Thoughts From The Barre: Pointes of Preparation

Thoughts From The Barre: Pointes of Preparation

Project back in the pointe shoes in full swing my friends – welcome to the workshop! This finicky foot wear is both a ballerinas best friend and worst enemy. You see, the right shoe can send you on stage as if you had angel’s wings and the wrong shoe makes every step drag through mud. So, as my New York Nutcracker D-Day is rapidly approaching, a frenzy of preparations have begun. For one never knows which pair will be the magic one. The one that fits your foot like a glove and feels just right when you stand on it. The one that lets you balance perfectly as you pirouette. And here we have my arsenal: 8 pairs of Freed of London pointe shoes in varying stages of readiness, otherwise known as $741 in cardboard and glue and 8 hours of sewing. Crazy right? Surely. But worth it in the end. Here’s to hoping there’s a diamond in this heap….

“All the dancer’s gestures are signs of things, and the dance called rational, because it aptly signifies and displays something over and above the pleasure of the senses.”
St. Augustine

Image

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ELW Essence
    Nov 24, 2013 @ 16:39:08

    I love your St. Augustine encouraging thoughts!

    Reply

  2. xballerina
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 03:42:53

    Yay, thank you so much and glad you stopped by! I always need some encouragement and positivity:)

    Reply

  3. jenessaconnor
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 16:56:40

    Exciting! Congrats on your upcoming Nutcracker debut. I’m sort of fascinated by this picture. My most recent post was about the power of (polar opposite) shoes, too.

    Reply

  4. xballerina
    Dec 06, 2013 @ 18:15:49

    Thanks Jenessa! Love that you enjoyed the picture and loved your post about shoes:) Glad you stopped by…

    Reply

  5. Jennifer
    Dec 11, 2013 @ 19:38:01

    Wow! I am so happy I came across your blog! I am an ex-dancer, sadly, but I wasn’t a professional ballerina! I had to quite for many different reasons before my graduating year at my ballet school (I’ve been out of it for almost 4-years). Pointe was my favorite; I could “hop” on my toes all day long! 😉 By the way, we have the same blog theme: koi! 🙂 Well now that I’ve told you my past, lol, good luck with the Nutcracker performances (if you haven’t already performed)! The “nut” (as we called it during rehearsals) is one of my favorite performances! I was a doll the year before I stopped. Look forward to more posts!
    Jennifer~

    Reply

    • xballerina
      Dec 19, 2013 @ 03:20:08

      Oh I’m so glad you stopped by xballerina!! I’m sorry you had to stop dancing so soon. Even though it was an incredibly difficult road, I feel so lucky to have managed a career. I am glad that you are still a fan though:) Honestly, there is more desperate need for supporters of ballet than for dancers these days. There are also many great people involved in the field, who aren’t necessarily dancing anymore. Fundraisers, managers, stage managers, costume designers and such. What are you pursuing now? I will stop by your blog for sure. Thank you for the wishes, our Nutcracker went very well. It was one of the most positive dance experiences I have had in years actually. I love the snow scene, it has always been my favorite. Believe it or not, I have NEVER been a doll. One of the only rolls I haven’t done. I will post more about it soon, when I have a moment to spare. Good luck!!

      Reply

      • Jennifer
        Dec 21, 2013 @ 19:15:39

        Thank YOU for stopping by my blog! It’s ok. I had complications with my knees sadly and it was getting very hectic (I am from a large family so taking me to dance classes became a struggle) anyway…I am very glad the performance went well! Right now I am pursuing music and writing. I’m actually trying to decide on what I want to study in school and figure out where my life is heading and I really want to pursue! Music is one of the reasons why I loved dance so much and it will always be a part of my life. Oh, and snow is my favorite too! I was in the corp which is FINE with me coming from a small ballet school where the seniors were usually the main roles (so I’ve been a snowflake before. lol!). I loved it though. Snow, being a doll and Marzipan I loved! Thanks again for stopping by my blog!
        Jennifer~

  6. Thought of the Day Blog
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 15:51:07

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, xballerina! I love yours too!! Your exploits as a professional ballerina seem super exciting and glamorous. I’m glad to hear that your show went well. I look forward to hearing all about it and about all of your upcoming adventures, too!!

    Reply

  7. No Blog Intended
    Jan 01, 2014 @ 15:41:41

    I was looking at that picture and thinking: that’s a lot of money there… Hehe :).

    Reply

    • xballerina
      Jan 10, 2014 @ 02:14:40

      Thanks for stopping by and Happy New Year! Ha, yes, so true. Thankfully the company pays me back for a portion and the rest will be a nice tax deduction, plus last me a good 6 months. I’m never sure about it, but somehow performing keeps pulling me back in:) Not too long from now, i won’t be able to dance on pointe at all as I continue transitioning to my second career, so i figure i should take advantage of opportunities while they remain! It’s a crazy world though:) Cheers!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

