Thought From The Barre: Let’s Get Tutu It

Thought From The Barre: Let's Get Tutu It

Project Back in the Tutu Is under way:
Well folks, it’s that time. My Snow Queen Tutu has arrived. In case you pondered the absence of my posts, it has been on account of getting in shape for the Nutcracker! That’s right, I’m not just back to dancing, I’m back in the tutu. There is nothing more quintessential for a ballerina and therefore full of expectation. Every flaw is evident in the infamous short skirt. It is both thrilling and chilling. So, I approached a fitting in the illusive tulle with some hesitation. It went better than expected! (Considering I haven’t worn a tutu in over a year and a half.) Although, I still have a ways to go. 4 weeks to get these not naturally tutu hams up to snuff. It is a time consuming affair, ballet class, bikram yoga, searching for pointe shoes, sewing of pointe shoes, exercises for the ankles, turning, turning, turning, and let’s not forget the core strengthening! Needless to say, I can’t quite forgive those who were born with perfect tutu legs, but I’ll give them a run for their money in determination any day. So, here’s to Sugar Plums dancing in my head until December 8th. And probably yours too, as I spotted at least 2 holiday commercials today. It’s that time, so let’s get tutu it!!!!

Image

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. geminidaydream
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 10:48:59

    So cute!!! 😀

    Reply

  2. tutustoreality
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 20:55:19

    What a great post! Good luck with everything and don’t forget to eat right and drink lots of water. Pilates is a great way to mix up a workout too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

