Wolffer Estate Winery, Long Island

Wolffer Estate, Long Island

“If we sip the wine, we find dreams coming upon us out of the imminent night”
-D.H. Lawrence

“Wine is bottled poetry.”
-ROBERT LOUIS STEVENSON

Visiting the expansive Wolffer Estate Winery yesterday on a mesmerizingly beautiful day, drinking blue sky and floating amidst the vines. One could nearly live on sunshine, but certainly with the addition of these daintily ripening grapes and salty cheeses. Clear stand outs: The 2010 Landius Pinto Noir (complex, mineral) and just about to be released Dry Rose Cider (“a reflection of soft summer sunsets…and the bohemian spirit that resides in everyone”). A destination to fortify the artistic soul and senses with friends…bottled poetry and heaven on earth!

Image

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leah Smithson Contemporary Artist
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 17:43:53

    Sounds and looks delicious. In reply to your message it was my pleasure stopping by to your blog. Retired ballerina huh? Very cool. I ❤ your expressions and writing. Fantastic. I absolutely love ballet and trained when I was younger. My thirst for art and graphics took me in another direction though. I'm happy to have met you.

    Reply

    • xballerina
      Sep 12, 2013 @ 18:10:21

      IT WAS!! Yup, still dancing a bit but not as my main focus. I am hoping to get into the management/coaching side of the art form eventually. It is so wonderful to hear you love ballet. People like you are too few and far between! How wonderful you found an avenue for your artistic abilities that you are very talented at. I love any form of art. It is encouraging to see so many great artists using the digital world to share their work. And I am so glad you enjoyed my posts so far, I just started blogging last week but love to write. Glad to meet you too…

      Reply

  2. FeetfromShore
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 20:53:12

    Ohh this post reminded me so much the trip I took to Napa Valley three weeks ago. I visited some of their famous wineries and I ended up taking 3 bottles of wine with me! It seems you also enjoyed the wine culture and had a nice day with friends 🙂
    Feel free to check my pictures of the wineries here http://feetfromshore.wordpress.com/2013/09/03/a-wine-lovers-paradise/

    I look forward to seeing what’s next to come in this blog 🙂

    Cheers, Yael

    Reply

    • xballerina
      Sep 12, 2013 @ 23:23:35

      Thanks so much for the follow and comment! I would LOVE to go to Napa Valley sometime. It did totally feel like it at Wolffer Estate, even though it is just Long Island. I will be adding another picture or two shortly. Amazing. I will definitely check out your pictures. Nice to meet you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

