Mare=Ballerina

Mare=Ballerina

By Gino Severini, Italian Futurist
“According to Severini, the environment is optically determined and hence fluid, and the human figure is merely a part, albeit an inseparable part, of that metamorphic reality.”
http://www.guggenheim.org/new-york/collections/collection-online/artwork/3924

Image

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Theresa H Hall
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 17:10:22

    I see a few ballerinas in this artwork. Welcome to the cyber world of blogging. I recently wrote a poem/lyrics titled, “Ballerina Down Downtown” (August 15th post). In the comments I share where my inspiration came from that morning. I hope you will enjoy it. I wanted to be a ballerina but my parents didn’t take me seriously. A bit sad for me and … keep dancing forever!

    Reply

    • xballerina
      Sep 04, 2013 @ 23:50:51

      Hi Theresa,
      Glad you can see it! Isn’t it wonderful how Severini relates the movement of a ballerina to that of the sea, and captures both so brilliantly? I will be posting some more similar works soon. Check them out! So sorry you weren’t able to follow your dream. I was incredibly lucky, but it also took a lot of blood, sweat and tears to make it happen. I hope you have found other outlets for your creativity, like Blogging!

      Reply

  2. Theresa H Hall
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 16:19:07

    Yes, well it allows me to watch and enjoy others who had the courage to not take no for an answer. I saw you stopped by yesterday. I hope you got to read the one I mentioned. http://skdd.wordpress.com/2013/08/15/ballerina-down-downtown/ Here is the link. Lovely day.

    Reply

  3. nothingprofound
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 22:56:20

    Very dynamic painting, captures a sense of movement so well. Plus, I love the colors.

    Reply

  4. xballerina
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 02:33:30

    So glad you enjoyed it! I will share a few others that are similar soon. The Futurists portrayed movement by splicing the image and repeating it overlapping through space. Just like the human eye does (just infinitely faster) and kind of a preview of film…come back soon:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

